Nottingham celebrated at the Notts Getting Active Together Awards 2020

Posted: Mon, 09 Mar 2020 10:00

Nottingham celebrated at the Notts Getting Active Together Awards 2020

The efforts and achievements of individuals and groups who are using physical activity to help improve the lives of people across Nottingham and Nottinghamshire were recognised at the Notts Getting Active Together awards on the evening of the 5 March at Lakeside Arts, Nottingham.

The exciting awards were jointly presented by sports broadcaster Colin Hazelden and GEM Radio presenter Jo Russell, with 200 guests attending the celebration. Entertainment was provided by Our Dementia Choir, Infinity 8 from Dukeries Young People Centre, Freedom Foundation and Nottingham Gymnastics Club.

The night celebrated some of the amazing work happening in our communities and Active Notts, who organised the event, want the opportunity to thank the volunteers, groups and staff who help to make physical activity the norm. A special thanks also goes to the category sponsors of the event Nottinghamshire County Council and Strategic Leisure.

This year's winners and finalists:


Winner (area)


Change4Life award

Glyn Plummer (Nottingham)

Josie Stapleton (Nottingham)

Sentley Wilson (Ashfield)

This Girl Can award

Jayne Morton (Nottingham)

Alex Ross and Lisa Morris (Ashfield)

Chloe Parr (Newark & Sherwood)

Active Place award

Flo Skatepark (Nottingham)

Newark Sports and Fitness Centre (Newark and Sherwood)

Carlton Young Peoples Centre (Bassetlaw)

Community Coach of the year

Kevin Henshaw (Ashfield)

Scott Johnson (Ashfield)

Claire Wilmott (Mansfield)

Project/Initiative/Innovation award

Evolve Boxing with the Live Team

Feel Good Families (Ashfield)

Hayd Road Community Cricket Club (Nottingham)

Inclusive Project, group or club of the year

Get Out Get Active Nottingham

Active Lives Project The Live Team (Nottingham)

Nottinghamshire Supers 1s

Community Group/Association of the year

Forget Me Notts (Rushcliffe)

Notts County Football in the Community

The Pythian Club (Nottingham)

Special Recognition award

Cath Rodkoff (Broxtowe)

Phil Peat (Mansfield)

Lesley Salmon (Mansfield)

Tony Judge (Rushcliffe)

Active Notts also awarded a Community Contribution award to organisations who have made a unique contribution to local communities and whose work aligns with the Notts Getting Active Together strategy. These were awarded to: Shannon Halford from Notts Clubs for Young People, The Pre-Op team at Sherwood Forest Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and Keiren Thompson from Helping Kids Achieve.

Tags: Active Notts, NGATawards, inclusive notts